Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Environmental Protection Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EPA Online Library System (OLS)

The Online Library System (OLS) for EPA’s National Library Network consists of several related databases that comprise the shared library catalog.  Use OLS to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics. Then search Addison or use interlibrary loan to access the material.

The material on OLS is updated every two weeks, and may be searched in many ways, such as by title, author, and keyword. In addition to the primary catalog, there are databases in OLS associated with special collections:

  • The National Catalog, which is the most popular database on OLS, contains the holdings (lists of books, documents and magazine titles) for EPA’s repositories and regional, laboratory, and specialized libraries. The National Catalog also has holdings for the EPA documents in the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) whether or not they are held by any libraries.  OLS can also search and display NTIS abstracts.
  • The National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) distributes thousands of popular EPA documents free of charge. Search this collection to find publications that are available from NSCEP.
  • GroundWater Ecosystems Restoration is a collection located in Ada, Oklahoma that contains specialized scientific and technical information relating to ground water protection and remediation.  Information includes strategies and technologies to protect and restore ground water, surface water, and ecosystems impacted by man-made and natural events.
  • The Air Pollution Technical Information Center database contains abstracts of materials that are maintained on microfiche by the EPA library located in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina.
  • The Region 1 database contains the historical holdings of the Region 1 library in Boston, Massachusetts.
  • The Region 8 database contains the historical holdings of the Region 8 library in Denver, Colorado.
  • The Region 9 database contains historical information from the Region 9 library in San Francisco, California.

You can search OLS to find information on a specific publication, or you can search for all of the books and reports that EPA has on a particular topic or by a particular author. Once you retrieve records for publications that interest you, there are several ways that you can obtain those publications.

Rights

For site security purposes and to ensure that this service remains available to all users, EPA employs monitors and filters to identify and block unauthorized attempts to upload or change information, or otherwise cause damage to the information on our Web pages. Unauthorized attempts to upload or change information on this site are strictly prohibited and may be punishable under the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act of 1986 and the National Information Infrastructure Protection Act. Except for these authorized law enforcement investigations, no other attempts are made to identify individual users or their usage habits.

Coverage

1900s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.