Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001005

    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Forest Compendium Online from CABI

The Forestry Compendium is a unique global compilation of knowledge on forestry, ideal for practical decision making. It has a comprehensive, worldwide coverage of tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal tree species of major economic importance and lesser-know species of local importance. It also covers, in detail, many of the pests that damage these trees. As a reference tool, it provides a basis for informed selection of woody species for a variety of uses, including for trials in plantation, agroforestry and natural forest systems. The new 2010 edition contains:

Vital stats

  • Over 2000 detailed datasheets on tree species of economic importance worldwide and lesser-known species of local importance
  • Basic datasheets on over 19,000 more species
  • Over 8,500 full text articles
  • Access with CAB Abstracts to over 210,000 articles
  • Over 5,000 illustrations
  • A multilingual glossary containing 17,000 entries, including nearly 2000 forestry terms defined in English, French, Spanish, German, and Portuguese
  • Core data from EPPO, World Bank, and FAO

Unique features

  • A single resource with fast and easy navigation between text, images, maps, and databases
  • Clear layout with browse functionality down to species and pest level
  • Regular weekly updates of the information
  • Links through to relevant external forestry information sources including research organizations and professional societies

Coverage

  • Tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal trees
  • Silviculture and management 
  • Tree and forest protection
  • Forest products
  • Tree pests

Additional links

  • Alerting services
  • Exporting citations to EndNote

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1980s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.