Virtually every course of study — from history to science to literature — is ultimately tied to the study of people. Biography in Context delivers outstanding research support with nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Just like all the new revolutionary In Context products, it’s a curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. In it you’ll find:
- 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals
- 170+ award-winning Gale reference titles
- 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events
- Integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content
- Hundreds of hand-crafted topic pages covering the highest-interest features
The included Lives & Perspectives Collection supports high-school curricula and university coursework by providing multidisciplinary content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives.
Source reference works include
- African American Firsts in Science and Technology (Gale, 1999)
- African Biography (UXL, 1999)
- Almanac of Famous People (Gale, 2007)
- American Decades 1990-1999* (Gale, 2001)
- American Decades Primary Sources (Gale, 2003)
- American Eras (Gale, 1998)
- American Men & Women of Science, 25th ed. (Gale, 2008)
- Animal Sciences\ (Macmillan Reference , 2002)
- Astronomy and Space: From the Big Bang to the Big Crunch (UXL, 2008)
- Authors and Artists for Young Adults (Gale, 1992-2011)
- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (Schirmer Reference, 2001)
- Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa (Gale, 2008)
- Biology (Macmillan Reference , 2002)
- Business Leader Profiles for Students (Gale, 1999-2002)
- Carroll's County Directory (Carroll Publishing, 2009)
- Carroll's Federal Directory (Carroll Publishing, 2009)
- Carroll's Municipal Directory (Carroll Publishing, 2009)
- Carroll's State Directory (Carroll Publishing, 2009)
- Cold War 1945-1991 (Gale, 1993)
- Computer Sciences (Macmillan Reference , 2002)
- Concise Dictionary of American Literary Biography (Gale, 1987-89,1998)
- Concise Dictionary of British Literary Biography (Gale, 1991-1992)
- Constitutional Amendments: 1789 to the Present (Gale, 2001)
- Contemporary American Religion (Macmillan Reference USA, 2000)
- Contemporary Artists (St. James Press, 1996)
- Contemporary Authors (Gale, 1962-2011)
- Contemporary Authors New Revision Series (Gale, 1980-2011)
- Contemporary Black Biography (Gale, 1992-2011)
- Contemporary Composers (St. James Press, 1992)
- Contemporary Designers (St. James Press, 1999)
- Contemporary Dramatists (St. James Press, 1999)
- Contemporary Fashion* (St. James Press, 2002)
- Contemporary Heroes and Heroines (Gale, 1990, 1992, 1998, 2000)
- Contemporary Hispanic Biography (Gale, 2002-2003)
- Contemporary Musicians (Gale, 1989-2010)
- Contemporary Newsmakers (Gale, 1985-1987)
- Contemporary Novelists (St. James Press, 2001)
- Contemporary Photographers (St. James Press, 1996)
- Contemporary Poets (St. James Press, 2001)
- Contemporary Popular Writers (St. James Press, 1999)
- Contemporary Southern Writers (St. James Press, 1997)
- Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television (Gale, 1984-2011)
- Contemporary Women Artists (St. James Press, 1999)
- Contemporary Women Poets (St. James Press, 1999)
- Current Leaders of Nations (Gale, 1990-1999)
- Debrett's People of Today (Debrett's Peerage Limited, 2009)
- Dictionary of American Biography (Scribner's, 1927-1988, 1994, 1995)
- Dictionary of Hispanic Biography (Gale, 1996)
- Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict (Macmillan Reference USA, 2005)
- Directory of American Scholars (Gale, 2001)
- Earth Sciences (Macmillan Reference , 1999)
- Encyclopaedia Judaica, 2nd ed. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2007)
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, 2nd ed. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism * (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005)
- Encyclopedia of Communication and Information (Macmillan Reference USA, 2002)
- Encyclopedia of Education, 2nd ed (Macmillan Reference USA, 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity (Macmillan Reference USA, 2005)
- Encyclopedia of India (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Irish History and Culture (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Modern Asia (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Modern China (Scribner's, 2009)
- Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology (Gale, 2001)
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd ed. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Public Health (Macmillan Reference USA, 2002)
- Encyclopedia of Russian History (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of Science and Religion (Macmillan Reference USA, 2003)
- Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics (Macmillan Reference USA, 2005)
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution, 2nd ed. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2000)
- Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of Military History (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006)
- Encyclopedia of the Great Depression (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed. (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Encyclopedia of the New American Nation (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006)
- Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 (Macmillan Reference USA, 2007)
- Encyclopedia of World Biography (Gale, 1998-2010)
- Environmental Encyclopedia, 3rd ed. (Gale, 2003)
- Essential Primary Sources (Gale, 2005)
- Europe 1789-1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2006)
- Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction\ (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2007)
- Europe, 1450 to 1789: An Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004)
- Explorers and Discoverers of the World (Gale, 1993)
- Feminist Writers (St. James Press, 1996)
- Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce (Gale, 2002)
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (Gale Group, 2006)
- Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (Gale, 1999)
- Gay & Lesbian Biography (St. James Press, 1997)
- Genetics (Macmillan Reference , 2003)
- Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizens' Rights and Responsibilities (Macmillan Reference USA, 2006)
- Great Women in Sports (UXL, 1996)
- Historic World Leaders (Gale, 1994)
- History Behind the Headlines (Gale , 2002)
- History of World Trade Since 1450 (Macmillan Reference USA, 2006)
- International Dictionary of Architects and Architecture (St. James Press, 1993)
- International Dictionary of Art and Artists (St. James Press, 1990)
- International Dictionary of Ballet (St. James Press, 1993)
- International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (St. James Press, 2000)
- International Dictionary of Modern Dance (St. James Press, 1998)
- International Dictionary of Opera (St. James Press, 1993)
- International Dictionary of Psychoanalysis (Macmillan Reference USA, 2005)
- International Dictionary of Theatre (St. James Press, 1992-1996)
- International Directory of Business Biographies (St. James Press, 2005)
- Major Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults (Gale, 2002)
- Math and Mathematicians (UXL, 2008)
- Mathematics (Macmillan Reference, 2002)
- Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary (Merriam-Webster Inc., 1995)
- New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd ed. (Gale, 2003)
- Newsmakers (Gale, 1988-2011)
- Notable Asian Americans (Gale, 1995)
- Notable Black American Men (Gale, 1998, 2006)
- Notable Black American Scientists (Gale, 1998)
- Notable Black American Women (Gale, 1992, 1996, 2002)
- Notable Hispanic American Women (Gale, 1993, 1998)
- Notable Mathematicians (Gale, 2008)
- Notable Native Americans (Gale, 1995)
- Notable Scientists: From 1900 to the Present (Gale, 2008)
- Notable Sports Figures (Gale, 2004)
- Notable Women Scientists (Gale, 2000)
- Nutrition and Well-Being A to Z (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Outlaws, Mobsters & Crooks (UXL, 1998, 2002)
- People of the Holocaust (UXL, 1998)
- Plant Sciences* (Macmillan Reference, 2001)
- Pollution A to Z * (Macmillan Reference USA, 2004)
- Presidents: A Reference History, 3rd ed. (Charles Scribner's Sons, 2002)
- Profiles of American Labor Unions (Gale, 1998)
- Religious Leaders of America (Gale, 1999)
- Science and Its Times, Vols. 1-7 (Gale Group, 2000-2001)
- Scientists: Their Lives and Works, Vols. 1-7. Online Edition (UXL, 2004)
- Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives (Scribner's, 1998-2007)
- Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives Thematic Series: Sport Figures (Scribner's, 2002)
- Scribner's Encyclopedia of American Lives Thematic Series: The 1960s (Scribner's, 2003)
- Space Sciences (Macmillan Reference , 2002)
- Sports Stars (UXL, 1994-1999)
- St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture (St. James Press, 2000)
- St. James Guide to Black Artists (St. James Press, 1997)
- St. James Guide to Children's Writers (St. James Press, 1999)
- St. James Guide to Crime & Mystery Writers (St. James Press, 1996)
- St. James Guide to Fantasy Writers (St. James Press, 1996)
- St. James Guide to Horror, Ghost & Gothic Writers (St. James Press, 1998)
- St. James Guide to Native North American Artists (St. James Press, 1998)
- St. James Guide to Science Fiction Writers (St. James Press, 1996)
- St. James Guide to Young Adult Writers (St. James Press, 1999)
- Twentieth-Century Romance and Historical Writers (St. James Press, 1994)
- Water: Science and Issues (Macmillan Reference USA, 2003)
- Who's Who Among African Americans (Gale, 2010)
- Who's Who in the Theatre (Gale, 1981)
- Women Filmmakers & Their Films (St. James Press, 1998)
- World Eras, Vol. 1: European Renaissance (1350-1600) (Gale, 2001)
- World Eras, Vol. 10: West African Kingdoms (500-1590) (Gale, 2003)
- World Eras, Vol. 2: Rise and Spread of Islam (622-1500) (Gale, 2002)
- World Eras, Vol. 3: Roman Republic and Empire (264 B.C.E.-476 C.E.) (Gale, 2001)
- World Eras, Vol. 4: Medieval Europe (814-1350) (Gale, 2002)
- World Eras, Vol. 5: Ancient Egypt (2615-332 B.C.) (Gale, 2002)
- World Eras, Vol. 6: Classical Greek Civilization (800-323 B.C.) (Gale, 2001)
- World Eras, Vol. 7: Imperial China (617-1644) (Gale, 2002)
- World Eras, Vol. 8: Ancient Mesopotamia (Gale, 2005)
- World Eras, Vol. 9: Industrial Revolution in Europe (1750-1914) (Gale, 2002)
- World of Anatomy and Physiology (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Biology (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Chemistry (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Computer Science (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Criminal Justice (Gale, 2002)
- World of Earth Science (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Genetics (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Health (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Invention (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Mathematics (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Microbiology and Immunology (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Physics (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Scientific Discovery (Online) (Thomson Gale, 2006)
- World of Sociology (Gale, 2001)
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: World Leaders (Gale, 2002)
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations: World Leaders. 10th edition (Gale, 2001)
- Writers Directory, 27th Ed. (St. James Press, 2011)