Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000046

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Genetics Abstracts from ProQuest

The amalgamation of recombinant DNA technology with traditional genetics has sparked a proliferation of specialized journals and primary papers - heralding an era of immensely diversified research directions. Since recent studies have shown that research work conducted in one organism is relevant to many other experimental systems, scientists need a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings that are important to their own studies. Genetics Abstracts provides that means, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems. Its unique blend of articles gives readers the widest possible perspective of genetics as a whole, from microbes to plants to humans. The burgeoning field of molecular genetics is emphasized, with important information on all aspects of DNA, differentiation and development, RNA, protein synthesis, ribosomes, nuclear proteins and chromatin, enzymes, and gene regulation. An essential resource for scientists across the life sciences, Genetics Abstracts will prove particularly useful to researchers and institutions directly and indirectly involved in the Human Genome Project.

Major areas of coverage include:

  • Molecular Genetics
  • Chromosomes
  • Extrachromosomal Genetics
  • Cell Cycle
  • Chemical Mutagenesis
  • Radiation Genetics
  • Immunogenetics
  • Developmental Genetics
  • Evolutionary Genetics
  • Ecological Genetics
  • Behavioral Genetics
  • Theoretical and Population Genetics
  • Viral Genetics
  • Bacterial Genetics
  • Fungal Genetics
  • Algal Genetics
  • Plant Genetics
  • Invertebrate Genetics
  • Vertebrate Genetics
  • Human Genetics
  • Medical Genetics

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1982-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.