Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Genome Project Database from NLM

The NCBI Entrez Genome Project Database is intended to be a searchable collection of complete and incomplete (in-progress) large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation, and mapping projects for cellular organisms. The database is organized into organism-specific overviews that function as portals from which all projects in the database pertaining to that organism can be browsed and retrieved. For example, you will find all information regarding the human genome project on this project page.

(Although the Entrez Genome Project Database does not include organellar-, phage-, plasmid-, or viral-only genome sequencing projects, data from those projects are submitted to GenBank and are available in the Entrez Nucleotide and Entrez Genome databases. Sequences such as the human mitochondrial sequence will be attached to the human genome project. There is also a special set of resources at NCBI dedicated to Viral Genomes.)

Entrez Genome Project is a companion database to Entrez Genome. Sequence data is stored in Entrez Genome (as complete chromosomes, plasmids, organelles, and viruses) and Entrez Nucleotide (as chromosome or genomic fragments such as contigs). However, Entrez Genome does not collect all data for a given organism. The Genome Project database, on the other hand, provides an umbrella view of the status of each genome project, links to project data in the other Entrez databases, and links to a variety of other NCBI and external resources associated with a given genome project. Sequences associated with a given organism can also be retrieved in the taxonomy browser. However, no distinction is made between GenBank (non-curated) and RefSeq (curated) sequences. There is also no distinction based on which sequencing center submitted the data. Entrez Genome Project also lists projects that are in progress or for which NCBI has not yet received any data. See the table below for a comparison of all 3 databases.

Comparison of Entrez Databases.

Entrez DatabaseOrganism-specific sequencesProject-specific sequencesSubmitter-specific sequencesComplete and in progressGenBank and RefSeq sequences
GenomeYesNoYesNoSeparated
TaxonomyYesNoNoNoTogether
Genome ProjectYesYesYesYesSeparated

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.