Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001208

    Glossary of Geology from AGI
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Glossary of Geology from AGI

The Glossary of Geology is a primary source for terminology in the field of the geosciences. The Glossary provides access to the more than 39,000 glossary entries contained in the fifth edition of the print glossary.

Users can learn the difference between look-alike pairs, such as sylvanite (a mineral) and sylvinite (a rock); the origin of terms; the meaning of abbreviations and acronyms common in the geoscience vocabulary; the dates many terms were first used; the meaning of certain prefixes; and the preferred term of two or more synonyms. Many Glossary entries contain a syllabification guide and background information.

The Glossary is searchable using terms, words within terms or definitions, categories and Spanish-language equivalents. Boolean operators (and/or/not) are available for each search field. Search fields may also be combined or may be browsed using a pop-up word wheel.

The online Glossary includes several features not available in the print version:

  • Display option for images of minerals, rocks, fossils and landforms. These images are drawn from the Earth Science World Image Bank maintained by AGI.
  • Spanish language equivalents for many entries in the online Glossary. Translated by geoscientists whose native language is Spanish, the Spanish entries can be browsed or searched directly.
  • Hyperlinks to related or similar terms. Synonyms or antonyms and glossary terms appearing as parts of other term definitions are frequently hyperlinked to allow quick reference.

All terms in the Glossary are assigned to general discipline categories. Terms can be restricted to a particular category or all terms in a category can be browsed. The following are the categories currently used in the Glossary:

  • Climatology
  • Coal
  • Economic Geology
  • Energy Sources
  • Engineering Geology
  • Environmental Geology
  • Extraterrestrial Geology
  • Geochemistry
  • Geochronology
  • Geology General
  • Geology Maps and Charts
  • Geophysics Applied
  • Geophysics General
  • Geophysics Seismology
  • Geophysics Solid Earth
  • Hydrology or Hydrogeology
  • Marine Geology or Oceanography
  • Mineralogy
  • Miscellaneous and Mathematical Geology
  • Paleobotany or Palynology
  • Paleontology General
  • Paleontology Morphology
  • Petrology Igneous
  • Petrology Metamorphic
  • Quaternary Geology
  • Remote Sensing
  • Sedimentary Petrology
  • Soils
  • Stratigraphy
  • Structural Geology
  • Surficial Geology or Geomorphology

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 15, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.