Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000152

    Grove
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Grove Art Online

Grove Art Online is today's foremost scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes) – the landmark reference work containing more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries.

Grove Art Online is maintained with a regular updating program. Three times per year, existing articles are updated with new scholarship, additions to the bibliographies, and corrections. In addition, new articles and images are added with each update to continuously grow Grove’s coverage of the visual arts. Hundreds of international art historians participate in GAO updates, and all new content continues to be written and peer reviewed by scholars and specialists.

Since 2005, Grove Art Online has included images of the most frequently studied works of art. Through partnerships with outstanding organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Bridgeman Art Library, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), Art Resource, ARTstor, Art Images for College Teaching (AICT), and numerous international galleries and individual artists, GAO is able to offer over 6,000 searchable images of works of art, maps, and line drawings. In order to help users find visual support for the existing scholarship in GAO, the site includes more than 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries around the world. In addition to this wealth of new content, Grove Art Online features biographical linking to the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography and a host of exceptional learning resources including timelines, thematic guides, and lesson plans from the Museum of Modern Art, New York.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.