Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000153

    Grove
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Online

Grove Music Online has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a glorious compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002), as well as numerous subsequent updates and emendations. Including more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies contributed by over 6,000 scholars from around the world, Grove Music Online is the authority on all aspects of music.

Subscriptions to Grove Music Online also include access to The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplement Grove's more extensive coverage with content geared toward undergraduates and general users. Many articles feature Sibelius-enabled musical examples to illustrate particular concepts and styles, and the tools and resources page offers specific pathways into the content including timelines and topical guides. Biographical articles in Grove Music Online are also linked to their counterparts in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography for mutual subscribers to both resources.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:
  • Permissions:
  • Restrictions:
  • ILL:
  • Authorized users:
  • Resource advisory:

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.