A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
Gale's Literary Index is a master index to entries on authors and works from over 130 reference works published by Gale. You can search an author's name or a work's title to see which reference works contain entries on this item. Basic biographical information is provided for authors, and basic bibliographical information for titles. Search Addison on the title of the reference work to determine local access: in print or online.
Biography in Context provides access to over 600,000 biographies in HTML sourced from reference works, news reports, magazines and academic journals. It provides links to related websites, images, audio, and video clips.
The Gale Encyclopedia of American Law provides articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of American law: legal terms and concepts, cases, people, entities, and events. In Focus essays accompany related entries and provide additional facts, details, and arguments on particularly interesting, important, or controversial issues raised by those entries. Details on landmark legal cases and several primary documents are also provided.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders provides articles in HTML and PDF on the health and medical aspects of genetic disorders.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Senior Health provides articles in HTML and PDF on all aspects of senior health: medical, economic, and social science.
Cross search both Something About The Author and Literature Criticism Online which includes Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. 1400s-present.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.
Cross-search Gale historical newspapers: Economist Historical Archive, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and Times Digital Archive. 1785-2007.
GenderWatch indexes citations and full-text articles on gender and women's studies and GLBT research. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government, and special reports. Content is HTML and PDF. 1970-present.
The Gene Database organizes information about the characteristics and defining sequences of genes from species in Genome, RefSeq, and other model organisms.
Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions and statistics, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The latest cumulative file covers 1972-2008 and includes 5364 variables, time-trends for 1,988 variables, and 257 trends having 20+ data points. You must create a MyData account at ICPSR before downloading the data.
Genetics Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal article, conference papers, and books in biology and medicine aspects of genetics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
The Genome Database provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.
Genome Project is a collection of complete and incomplete large-scale sequencing, assembly, annotation, and mapping projects for cellular organisms. The database is organized into organism-specific overviews that function as portals from which all projects in the database pertaining to that organism can be browsed and retrieved.
The GENSAT project aims to map the expression of genes in the central nervous system of the mouse, using both in situ hybridization and transgenic mouse techniques. The GENSAT database contains mouse brain images at several different developmental stages using both techniques, with a searchable set of gene expression annotations.
geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for access to geospatial information and data. A catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.
Comparable experimental sample sets assembled from the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Format of datyasets includes gene expression microarray, ChIP-chip, ArrayCGH (Comparative Genomic Hybridization), SNP arrays, SAGE, MPSS, Next-generation sequence data, and protein arrays. Entrez GDS queries all GEO DataSet annotation, allowing identification of experiments of interest.
This database stores individual gene expression profiles from curated DataSets in the Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO) repository. Search for specific profiles of interest based on gene annotation or pre-computed profile characteristics. GEO Profiles facilitates powerful searching and linking to additional information sources.
GeoRef indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses in the geological sciences. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1669-present (North America coverage); 1933-present (Worldwide coverage).
The Gerritsen Collection contains full-text (PDF and TIFF) journals, books, and pamphlets covering the social science aspects of feminism and the women's rights movement. 1543-1945.
The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names is a structured vocabulary containing around 895,000 records, including around 1,115,000 names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.
This bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, theses, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present. 1950-present.
Global Development Finance provides external debt and financial flows statistics for the 134 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. 1970-present.
Global Gateway provides access to bilingual, multimedia digital libraries from around the world, plus a listing of the searchable Library of Congress and other digital collections with a focus on history and culture from around the world. Some content is available in digitized full text.
The Glossary of Geology allows searching and browsing of 39,000 entries covering geology, climatology, geologic engineering, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, paleontology, and soils.
Google Patents indexes the full text of U.S. patents available through the U.S. Patent Office. Use the Advanced Patents search page to search by criteria like patent number, inventor, and filing date. Full text available in PDF. 1790-present.
Google's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic. From off-campus, click "Scholar Preferences" to set Get VText library links, which will ensure linking to full-text sources works properly.
Governments of the World provides articles in HTML and PDF about governments, political issues, and citizen politics in 198 regions, including every independent nation of the world and several territories under the jurisdiction of sovereign countries, plus international courts and entities.
The catalog for U.S. government publications. Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.). Includes a bibliographic citation in each record. 1976-present.
The Grand Corpus des dictionniares contains entries from 24 French language dictionaries published from the 9th to 20th centuries. You can limit searches to grammatical categories, etymologies, historical usage, and quotes and citations. The interface is in French.
Grant Forward indexes more than 8,000 federal funding opportunities and more than 6,000 foundation opportunities, spanning diverse academic fields including the arts, medical sciences, education, humanities, social sciences, business, engineering and technology, physical sciences, law, and many more. Use your Virginia Tech email address to set up an account.
Grants.gov simplifies the grants management process and creates a centralized, online process to find and apply for over 900 grant programs from the 26 federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov streamlines the process of awarding over $360 billion annually to state and local governments, academia, not-for-profits and other organizations. The vision for Grants.gov is to be a simple, unified source to electronically find, apply and manage grant opportunities.
GreenFILE indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, case studies, conference papers, speeches and interviews, letters, and reports overing all aspects of human impact to the environment including agricultural, architectural, engineering, education, and the social sciences. Full text is available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Free access version is also available. 1913-present.
GREENR indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, newspapers, magazines, book reviews, reference works, case studies, images, videos, and podcasts on the business, environmental, and science aspects of emerging green technologies and sustainability. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1864-present.
Grove Art Online, now part of the Oxford Art Online database, is a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes). Grove Art Online also offers over 5,000 searchable and embedded art images, maps, and line drawings. References are linked through Get VText.
Grove Music Online offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, all of which include numerous articles and biographies in HTML. Many articles feature Sibelius-enabled musical examples to illustrate particular concepts and styles.
Grzimek's Animal Life provides full-text articles in HTML and PDF on more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life and includes information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more. This work includes illustrations, photos, maps, a glossary, contact information for organizations, and a geologic time scale.
Grzimek's Animal Life is the online version of the authoritative, 17-volume print encyclopedia. It is an image-rich, dynamic online resource with more than 4,000 species categorized by Amphibians, Reptiles and Birds, Fish, Insects, Mammals and Simple Aquatic Life and includes information on evolution, habitat, behavior, range and more. This work includes illustrations, photos, maps, a glossary, contact information for organizations, and a geologic time scale. Content presented in HTML and PDF.
The GSS database contains all records found within the Genome Survey Sequence (GSS) division of GenBank. GSS records contain first-pass single-read genomic sequences and rarely include annotated biological features.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.