Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Hathi Trust
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. 

The HathiTrust Digital Library contains over seven million volumes and over one billion pages of scanned books and other materials. About 20 percent of all content is in the public domain (and accessible to you). You can also browse several public collections. Content is available in several image formats, text, and PDF.

Rights

HathiTrust is a collaborative library initiative. Users are encouraged to cite and link to digital content and are free to do so without asking for permission. Depending on the source of the digitized work, licenses or other contractual terms may restrict further distribution or other uses. Please consult the "Access and Use" statement included in the PageTurner view for each item (in the grey drop-down box in the upper left corner of the viewing area), for volume-specific information. You need to make your own assessment of the copyright or other legal concerns related to uses beyond those provided by HathiTrust for particular works.

The possible Access and Use statements that apply to each book are listed below. More information about copyright determinations in HathiTrust can be found on the Copyright page. HathiTrust does not have authority to grant or deny permissions to use images from volumes that are in the public domain or open access. If uses are made, subject to the terms below, we request that HathiTrust be attributed, and links to HathiTrust included where appropriate.

  • Public Domain:This work is in the Public Domain, meaning that it is not subject to copyright. Users are free to copy, use, and redistribute the work in part or in whole. It is possible that heirs or the estate of the authors of individual portions of the work, such as illustrations, assert copyrights over these portions. Depending on the nature of subsequent use that is made, additional rights may need to be obtained independently of anything we can address.
  • Public Domain in the United States:This work is deemed to be in the public domain in the United States of America. It may not be in the public domain in other countries. Copies are provided as a preservation service. Particularly outside of the United States, persons receiving copies should make appropriate efforts to determine the copyright status of the work in their country and use the work accordingly. It is possible that heirs or the estate of the authors of individual portions of the work, such as illustrations, assert copyrights over these portions. Depending on the nature of subsequent use that is made, additional rights may need to be obtained independently of anything we can address.
  • Public Domain or Public Domain in the United States, Google-digitized: In addition to the terms for works that are in the Public Domain or in the Public Domain in the United States above, the following statement applies: The digital images and OCR of this work were produced by Google, Inc. (indicated by a watermark on each page in thePageTurner). Google requests that the images and OCR not be re-hosted, redistributed or used commercially. The images are provided for educational, scholarly, non-commercial purposes.
  • Open Access: This work is protected by copyright law. It is made available from HathiTrust with explicit permission of the copyright holder. Permission must be requested from the rights holder for any subsequent use.
  • Open Access, Google-digitized: This work is protected by copyright law. It is made available from HathiTrust with permission of the copyright holder. Permission must be requested from the rights holder for any subsequent use. The digital images and OCR of this work were produced by Google, Inc. (indicated by a watermark on each page in thePageTurner). Google requests that these images and OCR not be re-hosted, redistributed or used commercially. They are provided for educational, scholarly, non-commercial purposes.
  • Protected by copyright law but made available on a strictly limited basis in accordance with U.S. exceptions to copyright law (e.g., Section 108 provisions or to registered users with print disabilities): This work is protected by copyright law (which includes certain exceptions to the rights of the copyright holder that users may make, such as fair use where applicable under U.S. law). In the absence of an applicable exception, no further reproduction or distribution is permitted by any means without the permission of the copyright holder.
  • Creative Commons Attribution: You must attribute this work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work). For details, see the full license deed.
  • Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives: Protected by copyright law. You must attribute this work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work). Only verbatim copies of this work may be made, distributed, displayed, and performed, not derivative works based upon it. For details, see the full license deed.
  • Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives: Protected by copyright law. You must attribute this work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work). Only verbatim copies of this work may be made, distributed, displayed, and performed, not derivative works based upon it. Copies that are made may only be used for non-commercial purposes. For details, see the full license deed.
  • Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial: Protected by copyright law. You must attribute this work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work). This work may be copied, distributed, displayed, and performed - and derivative works based upon it - but for non-commercial purposes only. For details, see the full license deed.
  • Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike: Protected by copyright law. You must attribute this work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work). This work may be copied, distributed, displayed, and performed - and derivative works based upon it - but for non-commercial purposes only. If you alter, transform, or build upon this work, you may distribute the resulting work only under the same or similar license to this one. For details, see the full license deed.
  • Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike: Protected by copyright law. You must attribute this work in the manner specified by the author or licensor (but not in any way that suggests that they endorse you or your use of the work). If you alter, transform, or build upon this work, you may distribute the resulting work only under the same or similar license to this one. For details, see the full license deed.

Coverage

1200s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.