Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Hindawi Open Access Journals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Hindawi Open Access Journals

Hindawi Publishing Corporation is a commercial publisher of peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. Founded in 1997, Hindawi currently employs more than 300 employees and publishes 200+ open access, peer-reviewed journals. In 2007 Hindawi entered into a publishing partnership with SAGE Publications in order to jointly develop a collection of open access journals, which are hosted on the SAGE-Hindawi platform.

Hindawi's journals maintain the highest standards of peer review, with more than 10,000 internationally-recognized Editors serving on the Editorial Boards of Hindawi's journals. In addition, a number of Hindawi's journals are published in association with a scholarly society. The majority of Hindawi's journals are included in one or more of the leading abstracting and indexing databases, including the Science Citation Index, Scopus, PubMed, INSPEC, Mathematical Reviews, and Chemical Abstracts.

Rights

The Open Access movement is a relatively recent development in academic publishing. It proposes a new business model for academic publishing that enables immediate, worldwide, barrier-free, open access to the full text of research articles for the best interests of the scientific community. All interested readers can read, download, and/or print any Open Access articles without requiring a subscription to the journal in which these articles are published.

In this Open Access model, the publication cost are usually covered by the author's institution or research funds. These Open Access charges replace subscription charges and allow the publishers to give the published material away for free to all interested online visitors. In addition, authors who publish in our Open Access journals retain the copyright of their article.

Other than their cost-recovery model, Open Access journals are no different from traditional subscription-based journals; they undergo the same peer-review and quality control as any other scholarly journal.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.