Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001500

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Historical Newspapers from Chadwyck-Healey

Historical Newspapers contains four major historical resources:

  • Palmer's Index to the Times which covers the period from 1790 to 1905 in The Times
  • The Official Index to the Times which takes the coverage forward from 1906 to 1980
  • The Historical Index to the New York Times which covers The New York Times from 1851 to September 1922
  • Palmer's Full Text Online, 1785-1870, providing access to the full articles referenced in Palmer's index to the Times

The Official Index to The Times, Palmer's Index to the Times, and The Historical Index to The New York Times are starting points for students and scholars of all aspects of British life and world affairs in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. They are constantly used by researchers in the fields of history, politics, economics, business, the arts, and entertainment, even sport, as well as by journalists, biographers, politicians, and genealogists. Together they constitute an index, not just to the newspapers, but to the events of the last two hundred years.

By bringing these resources together in electronic form, access to libraries' holdings of The Times and The New York Times in printed form or on microfilm will be vastly improved, enabling an important resource to be exploited far more fully. For the first time, scholars will be able to browse the indexes with ease, exploring new themes and trying out new ideas.

The three indexes contain records for millions of articles, ranging in topic from the French Revolution to the First World War. Now you can search through every one of them in a matter of moments, to find references for the articles you need for your research.

Palmer's Full Text Online 1785-1870 enables you to find the full text of every article in every issue of The Times newspaper during one of the most important periods in the social, political and economic development of the industrialised world. This exciting new resource consists of a fully searchable electronic index to The Times in which each record is linked to a high quality image of the relevant article. Using Palmer's Index to The Times, you can move from the index entry directly to any column of any issue of The Times from its foundation as The Daily Universal Register in 1785 up to 1870.

Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 and The Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980 are complete and fully available.

The current release of The Historical Index to the New York Times, 1851-1922 contains data from the years 1863 to 1905, and 1913 to September 1922.

Palmer's Full Text Online 1785-1870 is available now with coverage for the period 1800 (January 9) - 1870.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1790-1980

Date

October 31, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.