Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000700

    Historical Statistics of the US
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online

The Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American history.

This standard source for the quantitative facts of American history is now completely expanded and revised, with the following new features:

  • Landmark reference now available as an electronic database.
  • Fully cross-referenced and indexed.
  • Downloadable and customizable to suit individual areas of interest.
  • Download tables in Excel or CSV; also download entire groups of tables as a zip file.
  • Create custom tables - merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
  • Advanced searching of the tables, their documentation, and essays.
  • Full citation downloading in RIS, text, or CSV format.

Historical Statistics of the United States, a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources, was last updated in 1975. It has now been expanded to include over 37,000 data series, which is three times more than the previous edition. The Millennial Edition includes dozens of new topics including slavery, American Indians, and poverty. This monumental five-volume work is now available in both print and electronic formats.

This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field. The fully searchable and downloadable electronic edition (a single one-time purchase!) permits users to graph individual tables and create customized tables and spreadsheets reflecting own particular areas of interest. The special features offered in this online version of the Millennial Edition are:

  • Viewing tables in PDF or HTML format
  • Tables online include full documentation, sources, and footnotes - all the information that appears in the printed volumes
  • Bookmarking tables or essays for easy reference
  • Enhanced table display features: jump to a certain table column (series), skip over blank data cells, highlight table rows and columns for readability
  • Creating and downloading colorful charts, graphs, and plots
  • Selecting certain years or series of years to view, download, print, or graph
  • Downloading unrounded table data, for more detailed statistical analyses
  • Toggling table sorting by ascending or descending year
  • Searching within a chapter or part
  • Saving your search criteria
  • Searchable term and contributor indexes
  • Emailing a table or essay to a colleague

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.