Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 3: American Social and Political Movements, 1900-1945: Pursuit of Progress from Gale Virtual Reference Library

In this volume, historians evaluate the historical events and trends of the first half of the century, looking at the men and women who shaped the nation in these decades, and at the issues that troubled Americans. The historians evaluating these issues take different positions on the major issues, and on many of the minor issues in dispute. They offer different evaluations and interpretations of the players and positions from 1900 to 1945.

Topics covered include

  • Agricultural advances
  • Atomic bomb
  • Eugenics
  • FDR's Supreme Court
  • Fundamentalism
  • Good Neighbor
  • Great Depression: causes
  • Great Depression: ending
  • Great Migration
  • Harlem Renaissance
  • Huey Long
  • Influenza epidemic
  • Japanese internment
  • Lindbergh kidnapping
  • Marcus Garvey
  • Mexican revolution
  • Narcotics
  • Native American New Deal
  • New Deal
  • New Deal and farmers
  • New Women
  • The 1920s
  • 1930s civil rights
  • 1930s labor movement
  • Progressive Era women
  • Progressive movement
  • Racism in World War II
  • Red scare
  • Sacco and Vanzetti
  • Theodore Roosevelt
  • United States and the Jews
  • Urban bosses
  • Washington and Du Bois

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.