Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

History in Dispute, Vol. 1: The Cold War: First Series from Gale Virtual Reference Library

Almost as soon as the Second World War ended in 1945, the Soviet Union and the Western powers became embroiled in conflict. The cold war, as that conflict soon came to be called, ended up dominating international politics for nearly half a century.

The format of this volume reflects the nature of its subject. A hotly debated topic may best be presented through a series of disciplined and focused debates. One important purpose is to use comparative analysis as a tool to examine the validity of scholarly and historical arguments. With the greater availability of information, the field of cold-war studies has become even more dynamic, with almost every issue becoming the subject of a charged and energetic debate continually fueled by the discovery of new documents, the release of new memoirs, the reevaluation of older materials, and their synthesis into new works of scholarship.

The essays collected in this volume thus do not represent the historical “truth,” but rather approaches to such truth. The more we discuss these issues; the more we debate them and argue about them; the more we bring new materials to bear on such discussion, the closer we get to this elusive goal. By examining the competing arguments (not all of which have only two sides) directly and evaluating their relative merits, we thus hope to reveal the path to truth.

Topics covered include

  • Admirals' revolt
  • Afghanistan
  • Alliance for Progress
  • Baruch Plan
  • Berlin crisis
  • Cambodia
  • Central America
  • China Hands
  • CIA operations
  • Containment
  • Cuba policy
  • Détente
  • Finlandization
  • Flexible response
  • Guatemala and Chile
  • Hitler and Stalin
  • Human rights
  • Israel
  • Limited nuclear war
  • Marshall Plan
  • Militarizing containment
  • Military "gaps"
  • Missile defense
  • NATO
  • New Look
  • Nonproliferation
  • Nuclear deterrence
  • Nuclear preemption
  • Nuclear spying
  • Nuclear weapons
  • Origins
  • Quemoy and Matsu
  • Rollback
  • Suez war
  • Universalism
  • Vietnam war
  • Yalta Agreement
  • Yom Kippur war

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.