Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000431

    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of 19th century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for the history of the nineteenth century.

As the working documents of government, the parliamentary papers encompass all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. The division of papers into Bills, Reports of Committees, Reports of Commissioners, and Accounts and Papers reflects the various functions of parliament; legislative, quasi-judicial, inquisitorial and supervisory.

C19 Index includes bibliographic records for the entire collection of 19th century Parliamentary Papers (79,527 papers), based on Chadwyck-Healey's Subject Catalogue of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 1801-1900 by Peter Cockton. Coverage of the 'long 19th century' is provided with an additional 19,423 bibliographic records for the period 1901-1919. C19 Index users who also own the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers service can link from C19 Index to searchable full text within HCPP.

Copies of most of these documents are available in microcard format in the British Sessional Papers (1801-1976) series.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1801-1919

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.