Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000858

    Gale Illustrated News
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003, from Gale

As the world's first illustrated newspaper, the Illustrated London News offers an unparalleled pictoral record from the mid-nineteenth century until the very beginnings of twenty-first century, covering such diverse topics as royal balls to foreign wars to scientific invention and exploration.

All articles included in the The Illustrated London News Historical Archive are displayed as digital page images and most allow full-text searching. These digitized pages, also known as facsimile image, let you view the pages as they originally appeared in print.

Publication sections and article types

Articles are categorized according to the following sections:

  • Advertising
  • Arts and leisure
  • Editorial and commentary
  • News and business
  • People

Article types are listed within each section so that you can further target your search to specific kinds of content, such as "Births, Deaths, and Marriages," "Letters to the Editor," "Sport," and many others.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1842-2003

Date

September 13, 2010


Search other databases from:

Other databases for:

Other databases covering:

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.