Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Imagebase
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ImageBase from Digital Libraries and Archives at Virginia Tech

ImageBase is a browsable/searchable database of images and related information (metadata), retrievable by 19 fields including subject, title, and creator. Both small thumbnail images and larger full-screen images are available to the Virginia Tech community.

You may also find it helpful to consult the Special Collections Department's Guide to Manuscript Collections for additional images, among other things, that have not yet been digitized.

Rights

Resources and materials available through the Digital Library and Archives are available for use in research, teaching, and private study. For these purposes, you may reproduce (print or download) materials without prior permission, on the condition that you provide proper attribution of the source in all copies. These resources and materials are not in the public domain and copyright is largely held by the Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Ordering images

Digital Image Order Form

Digital Libraries and Archives will fill image requests from our patrons who prefer tiff files over jpegs. DLA will fill orders with a completed Digital Image Request Form and a check payment for an order. Send completed forms to:

Digital Library and Archives
Newman Library
1 Kent St. 
Blacksburg VA 24061-0434.

Our requirements concerning image orders:

  • Only completed orders will be filled
  • Payment must accompany orders (make checks out to: VT Treasurer)
  • Files will be burned to CD, no files transfered electronically (No FTP.)
  • Images owned by Norfolk and Southern Railroad require permission. Contact Rhonda Broom for permission to use images. Be sure to include how you intend to use their images with your request.
  • Images owned by Virginia Tech Atheltics require permission. Contact Anne Panella. Be sure to include how you intend use Athletics images with your request.
  • If you receive permission for Norfolk Southern or Virginia Tech Athletics images, please send a copy of the permission for our files.

By using these resources and materials, you agree to follow these conditions of use:

  • These resources and materials may not be used for any commercial purpose without prior written permission from the Digital Library and Archives or the copyright holder.
  • These resources and materials may not be re-published in print or electronic form without prior written permission from the Digital Library and Archives or the copyright holder.
  • You may not download these resources and materials in order to mount them on another server for public use, or for use by a set of subscribers. Institutions may link to the resources and materials of the Digital Library and Archives, subject to these conditions of use.
  • Any permission given to reproduce these resources and materials is non-exclusive.

Conditions governing use of materials

Copyright restrictions

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies and other reproductions of copyrighted material. Libraries and archives are authorized to furnish reproductions upon request for specified purposes, including private study, scholarship, and research; publication; and public exhibition. This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept an order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of that order would involve violation of copyright law. See our copyright pages for more information.

Publication or Public Exhibition Use (download form)

Permission to use department materials for publication or public exhibition must be obtained in writing from the Digital Library and Archives and the copyright holder. In a written application, Digital Image Permission and Order Form, please indicate which items you are seeking to publish or exhibit and where you wish to publish or exhibit them. DLA would appreciate receiving copies of any publications using items from the collections. Use of any archival copies must be only for the purpose stated. If you later wish to make a different or additional use of department material (particularly if you will be publishing or exhibiting them), you will need to contact DLA again for permission.

The following credit line and citation are required for publication and/or exhibit:

[Title of collection, (control number)], Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [URL, if applicable].

Citation for use (digital images):
VT ImageBase (http://imagebase.lib.vt.edu/), housed and operated by Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries; scanning by Digital Imaging, Learning Technologies, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.

Examples: How to cite DLA resources and materials

Journal of Technology Education, Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/JTE/)

Palmer, Earl. "Woman Preparing Grit Bread." (undated) VT ImageBase, Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. http://spec.lib.vt.edu/imagebase/palmer/full/ep504.jpeg

International Archive of Women in Architecture: Lilia Skala Collection. [untitled, undated watercolor] VT ImageBase (scanning by Digital Imaging, Learning Technologies), Digital Library and Archives, University Libraries, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. (http://imagebase.lib.vt.edu/view_record.php?URN=IAWASK0057).

Date

September 13, 2010


Other databases for:

Other databases covering:

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.