Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Index to Organism Names
This resource is freely accessible

Index to Organism Names (ION) from ISI

ION contains millions of animal names, both fossil and recent, at all taxonomic ranks, reported from the scientific literature. (Bacteria, plant and virus names will be added soon).

These names are derived from premier Thomson Reuters databases:Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews, and Biological Abstracts. All names are tied to at least one published article. Together, these resources cover every aspect of the life sciences - providing names from over 4 million scientific records, including approximately 15,000 international journals, patents, books, and conference proceedings. They provide a powerful foundation for the most complete collection of organism names available today.

When you search for a name on ION, your results include:

  • Basic nomenclatural and hierarchical information
  • Original description reference and related articles from Thomson Reuters databases with links to citations via
  • Related, evaluated Web resources

This data allows you to:

  • Identify the taxonomic group to which an organism belongs
  • Verify that newly published animal names have been correctly reported in Zoological Record, as recommended by the International Code of Zoological Nomenclature, and submit articles to have names included
  • Keep up to date with newly published names in your organism group
  • Track changes in the actual usage of names (and their variant spellings) in the literature
  • Check homonyms - avoid homonym creation for new names and identify existing homonyms within and between phyla or kingdoms
  • Obtain literature references about a name
  • View latest research carried out on a name through the recent articles list
  • Access full text and gain access to the full literature record of a given name

Additional links

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.