A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
IBISWorld provides two types of business reports:
Industry Market Research: Reports (PDF) on over 700 US industries arranged by 5-digit NAICS code. Typically 25-50 pages in length with executive summaries, these reports are updated regularly.
Business Environment: Data and analysis (PDF and Word) on 200+ economic and demographic statistics, categorized in 7 'environments' that surround the economy. These 2-3 page reports are available on around 300 key business environment indicators.
The ICE Virtual Library contains every peer-reviewed journal and conference proceedings produced by the Institution of Civil Engineers. Full text is available in HTML and PDF. 1836-present.
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world’s highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Full text content is provided as PDFs. 1893-present, full text from 1988-present.
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive indexes full-text articles from the paper as well as provides full page facsimiles (JPEG). Articles or pages can be exported as image-PDF, but no text version is available.
ImageBase is a browsable/searchable database of images and related information (metadata), retrievable by 19 fields including subject, title, and creator. Both small thumbnail images and larger full-screen images are available to the Virginia Tech community.
Immunology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, and patents on the biological and medical aspects of immunology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
Based on the Index of Middle English Verse (1943), its Supplement (1965), and archival research by Linne R. Mooney (University of York, formerly University of Maine), Elizabeth Solopova (Bodleian Library) and Daniel W. Mosser (Virginia Tech). You can browse or search by verse and manuscript. Content is HTML.
Citations to speeches made in the General Assembly beginning with its 38th session (1983-), the Security Council beginning with its 38th year (1983-), the Economic and Social Council beginning in 1983 and the Trusteeship Council beginning with its 15th special session (1982). Links to the full text of speeches in PDF are provided.
The Index to American Botanical Literature provides book and articles citations on all aspects of botany. 1996-present; earlier in print 1886-1966 and 1967-1976.
The Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective indexes citations to articles and summaries in annual surveys of laws and courts, legal journals, and legal yearbooks. 1908-1981.
Contains all the animal names data found within the Thomson Reuters life science literature databases - Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews, and Biological Abstracts. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added soon. Search results include basic nomenclatural and hierarchical information, original description reference and related articles from Thomson Reuters databases with links to citations via Web of Knowledge from ISI , and related, evaluated veb resources.
Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, conference papers, and patents on the agricultural, chemical, and medical aspects of microbiology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.
Reports on over 700 U.S. Industries arranged by 5-digit NAICS code. Typically 25-35 pages in length with executive summaries, these reports are updated regularly. Industry Report contain 9 chapters: About this Report, Key Statistics, Segmentation, Market Characteristics, Industry Conditions, Key Factors, Key Competitors, Industry Performance, and Outlook. Full text provided as PDF.
Virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. Contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library card catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information.Each entry is annotated and indexed using both Library of Congress subject headings and relevant keywords. Covers all subject areas.
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.
Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. 1898-present.
The Integrated Fertility Survey Series offers data and tools for examining issues related to families and fertility in the U.S. It encompasses the Growth of American Families, National Fertility Surveys, and National Surveys of Family Growth, as well as a single dataset of harmonized variables across all ten surveys. See the ICPSR page for more details on using these data sets. 1955-2002.
IAWA documents the women's involvement in architecture and landscape architecture, industrial and interior designer, and urban planning from around the world. Use the links on the left to search or browse for women who practiced architecture and related design professions. The IAWA collects information to fill serious gaps in the availability of primary research materials for architectural, women's, and social history research.
IAU Proceedings provides full-text papers in PDF. 2004-2007.
The International Children's Digital Library provides over 4,000 ebooks written to appeal to 3 to 13 year olds. Each book was originally published in a printed form; the site includes both copyrighted and public domain titles. Scanned images (JPEG) or pages or spreads are presented for each book. Ebooks cannot be downloaded. Late1800s-present.
This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926-1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Chapters and tables are presented at individual PDFs.
IDRC acts as a clearinghouse for international data housed at ICPSR. Data sets can be downloaded (format varies by source). See the ICPSR page for details on using this data,
The International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family, Second Edition provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on international perspectives and issues surrounding marriage and family. It includes articles specific to countries and to religious traditions, examining the history of family life within these cultures, and discussing how families have been affected by political and social change.
The International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on a broad spectrum of the social sciences, including the arts, economics, psychology, psychiatry, and religion.
IFS Online presents current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Data presented as HTML, PDF, and Excel tables. 1948-present. Limit of simultaneous users.
IMB indexes citations for 365,000 articles from journals and conference proceedings relating to all aspects of the Middle Ages (300-1500 A.D.) in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. 1967-present. Limited to simultaneous users.
The International Relations Security Network provides full-text ebooks, working papers, government reports, journal articles, historic and contemporary primary source material, directories, news commentary and analysis, and policy briefs on all aspects of international relations. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1990s-present with some material from earlier centuries.
The International Studies Encyclopedia provides full-text essays in HTML on the social and environmental aspects of international studies and international relations. It includes links to archives, datasets, cases, and pedagogical aids.
The Internet Archive Open Library is a catalog of book record, plus links to many freely available ebooks. Use it to identify books that may be in our local collection or requestable through interlibrary loan. You can also limit to ebooks, most of which are available in PDF and ePub formats.
An index of letters, diaries, oral histories, memoirs, and autobiographies freely available on the web and Alexander Street Press. The search returns citation information and links to full text, audio, and video whenever available. Some indexed content is copyrighted and not available for free. 1558-1995.
IPA Source is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Promotes the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. At present, IPA Source offers works in Latin, Italian, German, and French. Transcriptions presented as PDFs. Includes mp3 recordings of some pronunciations. Limited to simultaneous users.
The Iter Bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). It indexes citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts, and discographies), as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias, and exhibition catalogues). Use the Check for full text link to connect to Get VText. 1784-present.
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.