Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000002

    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology

This classic and well-known reference was originally published from 1926-1930 for the National Research Council in 7 volumes. It contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties, it is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering.

Sections include:

  • National and local systems of weights and measures
  • Symbols, basic constants, conversion data, dimensions, definitions
  • Chemical elements and atoms
  • Laboratory technique
  • Physical properties of chemical substances
  • Liquid crystals
  • Radioactivity
  • Astronomical and geodetic data
  • Aerodynamics
  • Strengths and replated properties of woods
  • Building stones
  • Clays
  • Heavy clay products and sand-lime brick
  • Porcelain and whiteware
  • Properties of glass
  • Chemical durabilities of glasses
  • Vitreous enamels for metals
  • Structural cements, limes, and plasters
  • Magnesia cements and concretes
  • Dental cements
  • Solid fuels
  • Petroleums, petroleum products, and commercial oils of mineral origin
    • Flash points of saturated vapors of combustible liquids
    • Quantitative effects of some compounds upon detonation in internal combustion egines
  • Lubricants and lubrication
  • Asphalts and mineral waxes
    • Bituminous materials
  • Explosions and gaseous experiments
  • Animal and vegetable oils, fats, and waxes
  • Adhesives and gelatins
  • Textile fibers
  • Tannins and vegetable tanning materials
  • Leather
  • Rubber, gutta percha, and balata
  • Factitious plastics
    • Commercial carbons for electrical uses
  • Industrial electrical insulators
  • Raw materials of the paint and varnish industries
  • Toxicology of gases and vapors
  • Air conditioning
  • Refrigerating brines
  • Sieves and screens
  • Saccharimetry, the properties of commercial sugars and their solutions
  • Properties of metals and alloys
  • P-V-T relations for one-phase systems (density, specific gravity, thermal expansion and compressibility)
  • Phase equilibrium data
  • Osmotic pressure
  • Properties of surfaces: surface tension, surface energy, and related properties
  • Viscosity and fluidity
  • Kinetics of physical processes
  • Heat capacity
  • Thermal effects accompanying physical and chemical processes
  • Heats of solution or organic substances
  • Thermal conductivity
  • Radiometry (heat and light)
  • Spectroscopy
  • Photometric standards
  • Mechanical equivalent of light
  • Properties of soaps and their aqueous solutions
  • X-ray data
  • Electronics and gas conduction
  • Dielectric constant and dielectric strength
  • Electrical conductivity and resistivity
  • Electrical conductivity of pure non-metallic liquids
  • Electroelastic and pyroelectric phenomena
  • Thermoelectricity
  • Electrical conductivity of aqueous solutions

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.