Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000876

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences from Gale Virtual Reference Library

The new edition reflects the impact of the rise of critical theory in its postmodernist forms on the social sciences, especially in the arenas of cultural anthropology, qualitative sociology, and methodology. Simultaneously, it includes the most sophisticated theoretical reaction to those developments—the reaction that has sublated those developments by challenging the nihilistic thrust of postmodernism—in the form of realist theory; the latter is not to be confused with “realism” or “realpolitik.” The new edition incorporates transformative developments in the social sciences: the routinization of the use of applied statistics and mathematical modeling in economics, psychology, and sociology; the rise of cultural studies, including the study of popular culture; the exploration of race, ethnicity, phenotype, and identity across the social sciences; the emergence of gender studies and women’s studies; the “coming out” of queer studies; the study of memory as something far more than a biomechanical act; and the recent construction and development of concepts like “the other,” Orientalism, causality, postcolonialism, the clash of civilizations, the gaze, marginalization, occupational crowding, generation X, and gentrification.

Topics covered include

  • Anthropology
  • Archaeology
  • Arts, Media, and Popular Culture
  • Demography
  • Econometrics
  • Economic Development
  • Economics
  • Education
  • Geography
  • History and Historiography
  • Interdisciplinary Studies
  • International Relations, Organization, and Law
  • Law
  • Linguistics
  • Methodology
  • Personality
  • Philosophy of Science
  • Political Science
  • Professions
  • Psychiatry
  • Psychology, Applied
  • Psychology, General
  • Religion
  • Social Issues and Policy
  • Social Psychology
  • Social Sciences
  • Societies
  • Sociology

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.