Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    International Relations Security Network
This resource is freely accessible

International Relations Security Network

The International Relations and Security Network (ISN) is the world's leading open access information service for international relations and security professionals.

The Digital Library is home to the ISN’s vast content holdings on international relations- and security related issues. Content here includes: 

  • Over 20,000 full-text books, working papers, government reports, and journal articles
  • A growing collection of historic and contemporary primary source materials 
  • A comprehensive directory of think tanks, research institutes, NGOs, and other organizations active in international relations and security policy 
  • An annotated links library of the world’s best websites, blogs, and online research resources in international affairs

The Current Affairs section provides information on the issues that are shaping national policy and global dialogue. This section offers:

  • News stories on emerging, ongoing and underreported issues 
  • Original ISN commentary and analysis 
  • Podcasts featuring interviews with leading scholars and policy experts 
  • Syndicated articles from leading international relations journals and media partners 
  • Policy briefs from prominent think tanks and research institutes 
  • Special reports on major national, regional, and international issues 
  • A calendar of upcoming conferences and events

Coverage

1990s-present with some materials from earlier centuries

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.