Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000905

    International Studies Encyclopedia
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

International Studies Encyclopedia from Wiley

The International Studies Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work for the fields of international studies and international relations. Arranged across 12 volumes in an A-Z format, it brings together specially commissioned, peer reviewed essays, written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.

Key features include

  • Over 400 peer reviewed essays of up to 10,000 words focusing on the most important topics and issues
  • Aimed at students, scholars, and practitioners, the essays are designed to allow readers to be brought quickly up-to-date on the nature of the questions asked, past attempts at formulating responses, and the current state of debates
  • Comprehensive coverage of the field
  • Extensive index volume
  • Organized primarily around the different sections representing areas of specialization within the ISA

The Encyclopedia is organized around the following ISA sections:

  • Active Learning in International Affairs
  • Comparative Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Diplomatic Studies
  • English School
  • Environmental Studies
  • Ethnicity, Nationalism and Migration
  • Feminist Theory and Gender Studies
  • Foreign Policy Analysis
  • Global Development Studies
  • Human Rights
  • Intelligence Studies
  • International Communication
  • International Education
  • International Ethics
  • International Law
  • International Organization
  • International Political Economy
  • International Political Sociology
  • International Security Studies
  • IR Theory
  • Peace Studies
  • Political Geography
  • Post-Communist States in IR
  • Scientific Study of International Processes
  • Women's Caucus

It includes live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and other relevant materials to enhance the essays featured in the encyclopedia.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.