A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #
LandScan is a global population database that shows geographical distribution of population at one-kilometer resolution over an average 24-hour period. Demographic (age, race, sex) and socioeconomic characteristics are integrated with population data to allow integration with risk and impact assessment models.
This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple language literature, and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1681-present.
Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 12,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Leadership Federal Government provides access to a directory of contact information for federal agencies, employees, and decision makers, including phone and fax numbers, addresses, emails, and biographical information. It allows searching the online federal government contact directory by organization type, acronym or person and discover the depth of our federal government contact directory.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science is a series of computer science books published by Springer Science+Business Media. It reports state-of-the-art research results in computer science, especially in the form of proceedings, post-proceedings and research monographs. Each chapter is presented as a separate PDF. In addition, tutorials, state-of-the-art surveys and "hot topics" are increasingly being included. 1997 (no. 1267)-present. (older issues available in print, search Addison)
Lecture Notes in Mathematics provides full-text ebooks (each chapter is a separate PDF) covering all areas of mathematics and its applications.
The Legal Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles and case studies. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. 1965-present.
The Legislative Information System includes general information about the legislative process and its participants as well as the full text, summaries, status history of bills and resolutions and schedules of activity. Full text searching is also available for the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code, Bills and Resolutions, and House and Senate Documents.
LexisNexis Academic is a collection of hundreds of databases covering topics such as news, business, legal research, people, and company information. The default start search form uses the Easy Search method in the General search tab. Select Power Search for more advanced search options. Use the Sources link to choose from individual databases. All content is full text in HTML. News sources 1977-present; legal source 1789-present.
This database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and theses covering the topics of library science and information science. Full text is delivered as PDFs. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1905-present; full text 1994-present.
The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials. The Catalog also displays searching aids for users, such as cross-references and scope notes. Items identified through this catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Linguistic Bibliography Online indexes citations of journal articles and book chapters in linguistics. It includes publications from interdisciplinary fields, such as anthropology, psychology, sociology, philosophy and computer science and extensive coverage of non-Indo-European and lesser-known Indo-European languages. 1993-present.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in the field of linguistics and related language sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1973-present.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, conference proceedings, books, product reviews, and dissertations covering library and information science. Full text is presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Cited reference searches are also available. 1880s-present.
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on race and prejudice in literature.
Literary Themes for Students: The American Dream provides full-text essays on HTML and PDF on the theme of the American dream.
Literary Themes for Students: War and Peace provided full-text essays in HTML and PDF on the theme of war and peace in literature.
Includes full text of three references works:Short Story Criticism: most-studied short story writers with a historical survey of the critical response to their work, Drama Criticism: for each play or playwright: critical opinion, a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more, and Children's Literature Review: most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works. Entries presented in HTML and scanned page images that can be exported in PDF.
Search or browse across 18 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the U.S., and English Authors Series. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Use the Literature Resources interface to cross-search most Gale literary databases: Literature Resources Center, Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature-related reference works), MLA International Bibliography, Scribner Writers Series, and Twayne's Authors Series. Indexed sources include biographies, literary criticism articles, reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of language, literature, folklore, and the dramatic arts. 1926-present.
An online edition of an 1821-22 collection of sixty-four biographies of Scottish poets with a supplement of 190 minor lives.
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual articles available as PDFs. 1881-1986. Other date ranges.
Image collections for art, architecture, design, and civil engineering. Search image collections, manipulate selected images, and create image-based presentations for classroom and professional use. Images can be exported for use in presentation software, such as PowerPoint and web pages. Off campus access requires PID/password (not Off Campus Sign In).
NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.