LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications, using a variety of flexible search options. One of the most heavily used databases in higher education, LexisNexis Academic is available at over 1,500 libraries serving over 8 million students and faculty. It is a standard element in many research and information literacy programs.
News
LexisNexis Academic NEWS supplies a wide variety of authoritative sources, including:
- Full-text of more than 1,000 newspapers from the U.S. and around the world, many same day of publication, plus the most extensive archives available anywhere of Financial Times (dating back to 1982), The New York Times (dating back to 1980) and The Washington Post (dating back to 1977)
- More than 300 magazines and journals and over 600 newsletters, including: American Journalism Review, The Economist, Library Journal, New Republic, Newsweek, and Variety
- Hard-to-find broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks, including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR, as well as political transcripts covering Congressional committee hearings, press briefings from the State, Justice, and Defense departments, and presidential news conferences
- Campus news, including the Chronicle of Higher Education and nearly 300 individual college/university papers
- Wire services, updated several times a day, including respected names such as the Associated Press, Business Wire and PR Newswire
- Non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines
Business
LexisNexis Academic provides a full range of credible sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S. and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income and number of employees. News sources include:
- Accountancy Age
- Advertising Age
- Consumer Electronics
- Business & Finance Magazine
- Design Week
- IPO Reporter
- Mergers and Acquisitions Reports, and more
Financial information sources include:
- Standard & Poor's Corporate Descriptions
- Hoover's Company and Industry Reports
- Disclosure Reports
- International company and stock reports, and more
SEC filings and reports include:
- SEC 10-Q Reports
- SEC 10-K Reports
- SEC 8-K Reports
- SEC 20-F Reports
- SEC Annual Reports to Shareholders
- Proxy Statements
- Prospectuses
- Registration
- Williams Act Filings
Legal research
Students can use LexisNexis Academic to access primary source material such as case law, statutes and regulations or dive into secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic. Legal research sources include:
- Law review articles from over 500 publications
- Legal news from more than 300 legal newspapers, magazines, and newsletters
- U.S. Supreme Court decisions from January 1790 to present, searchable by majority opinion, minority opinion, concurring opinion, counsel, or headnotes
- U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals decisions
- U.S. District Court decisions from 1789 to present
- Decisions from Bankruptcy Courts; U.S. Court of International Trade; Tax Courts; Courts of Customs and Patent Appeals, and Veterans, Commerce, and Military Courts
- State court decisions at all court levels for all 50 states and territories
- All Federal laws from 1988 to the present
- Federal regulations: Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, and Federal Acquisition Regulations and Supplements
- Codes for all 50 states and territories, plus constitutions, court rules, and Attorneys General opinions
- Legal Reference materials such as American Jurisprudence, Second Edition, Ballentine's Law Dictionary, and Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations
- The IRS bulletin, IRS regulations, ABA Tax Lawyer, AICPA Tax Adviser, and more
- Patents from 1971 forward, searchable by keyword, patent number, classification number, lawyer, assignee, inventor, or summary
- Canadian law journals, court cases from 1876, and legislation from 1988
- European Union law from the CELEX database and international case law from a number of other countries
- Law school directories, including the Martindale-Hubbell Law School Directory and NALP National Directory of Law Schools
Other sources
In addition to the news, business, and legal sources described above, LexisNexis Academic provides access to:
- Specialized search forms for topics like Environmental Studies, Government & Politics, Accounting, and Health & Medical care.
- Medical information, including medical news and medical & health journals. Abstracts from medical journals dating to 1966 are provided in the National Library of Medicine's Medline database
- Biographical information
- Country and state profiles
- Reference sources like the World Almanac and Book of Facts
Company dossier
Having accurate, up-to-date information on companies is critical for business majors, job seekers, and anyone performing company-based research. But, getting a complete picture of a company's structure, financial health, brands and competitors can be a challenge. LexisNexis Company Dossier, a research tool used by thousands of business professionals daily, is now being made available to students and researchers seeking information about U.S. and international companies.
- Business students can easily compare up to 5 companies and download financial statements for finance courses
- Students and career services departments can obtain comprehensive reports on companies during job searches
- Journalism and business students can easily track companies' latest news and PR developments
- One Company Dossier report is a compilation search of over 70 different sources - all in one place to save time and effort
LexisNexis Academic contains information from a wide variety of sources:
Additional links