Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001641

    Literature Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature Online (LION) from Proquest

Literature Online provides both scholars and students with texts, criticism and search tools which open up new possibilities for academic research, teaching and undergraduate learning. Ii integrates over 350,000 works of poetry, prose and drama from the 8th to the 21st century with a huge library of criticism and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries.

Literature Online contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction from the seventh century to the present day. It not only provides the materials for the historical study of almost every period and genre of literature in English but also features increasing numbers of works by the major authors of the twentieth century. Contemporary criticism is available through the full text of current literature journals that can be accessed through two renowned literary indexes—the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and the Modern Language Association Index (MLA).

Literature Online is dynamic, growing regularly as new texts are converted to electronic form, as new reference resources are added, and as further websites are identified and integrated within the service. The content of the service is developed with the advice of internationally known scholars, making Literature Online a complete environment for research, teaching, and undergraduate study. Literature Online also includes multimedia to support poetry study through Poets On Screen which offers filmed poetry readings of contemporary poets reading their poems and classic poems.

Additional links

Coverage

1280-present

Date

August 1, 2013


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.