Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000101

    Gale
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Literature Resource Center from Gale

Literature Resource Center is a current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Its coverage includes all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world. View search tips.

What you'll find in Literature Resource Center

  • Full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines—the majority peer-reviewed—as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. (After your search, select the Literature Criticism tab.)
  • Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. (After your search, select the Reviews and News tab.)
  • Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception. (After your search, select the Biographies tab.)
  • Full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines. (After your search, select the Primary Sources/Literary Works tab.)
  • Overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics. (After your search, select the Topic and Work Overviews tab.)
  • Links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors and audio interviews and reviews. (After your search, select the Multimedia tab.)

New and updated material is added daily. For a complete list of journals, magazines, and reference book materials included in Literature Resource Center, see What's in Literature Resource Center.

Literature criticism

Academic, critical or analytical essays written by scholars, including all articles from peer-reviewed journals and all articles reprinted in Gale's various Literature Criticism series (Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, and so on).

Biographies

Articles about the lives of authors and other individuals, the contexts in which they wrote, and overall critical reception of their works.

Topic and work overviews

Articles providing general information about topics, events, and the plots, themes, characters and contexts of literary works.

Reviews and news

Critical evaluations of books, theatrical performances, readings and films as well as news about literature and publishing.

Primary sources/Literary works

Texts of poems, stories and other creative works as well as first-hand accounts such as interviews, letters and diary entries.

Multimedia

Images, audio and links to selected websites.

MLA International Bibliography

Citations from the Modern Language Association International Bibliography, which indexes materials on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics, will display in this tab when the Bibliography is cross-searched with other Gale literature content.

Additional links

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.