Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000745

    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Los Angeles Times from ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Rails connect East and West for the first time. Oil is discovered in Los Angeles. Immigrants come ashore from Japan and China, as former slaves arrive from the South and Latinos arrive from Mexico. Aviation and moviemaking take flight. Los Angeles hosts the Olympic Games—twice. Shipbuilding and citrus growing become major industries. Local companies Wham-O and Mattel give birth to the Hula Hoop and Barbie. The city hosts the first Super Bowl. And, the historical Los Angeles Times (1881-1986) records it all. 

The Los Angeles Times delivers unique coverage of the development of Southern California and the American West. Follow reporter Charles Lummis as he walks from Cincinnati to Los Angeles, recording his travels and providing a unique glimpse into Native American life. Read the Annual Trade Number Edition (published 1886-1962), which promoted Southern California to prospective immigrants from the East and Midwest. Review the “Noticias en Espanol” news summary column (published 1922-1933), which served the Times’ Spanish-speaking audience.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.