Making of America provides digital reproductions of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. Content is provided in text, GIF, and PDF formats. Major segments of this collection include magazines, ebooks, and Civil War documents. 1840-1900.
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Content is available in text, GIF, and PDF formats. 1840-1900.
The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1914 provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, and more.
Mango offers online, self-paced, conversational, language-learning courses, including over 60 foreign languages for English speakers (including ancient languages), plus 16 courses of English as a second language. You can also watch films with subtitles and other features. Create a profile on the site to begin; use that profile to access Mango through iOS and Android apps. A microphone is strongly suggested for some exercises.
Search or browse across three subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. References are linked via Get VText.
MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.
MasterFILE Premier indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books and reference works (including the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, and Book of Facts), primary source documents, photos, maps, flags, biographies, book reviews from Magill Book Reviews, and news transcripts. Full text available in HTML, PDF, and some scanned image formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.
Material ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.
Materials Business File indexes citations and abstracts of industry news, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations, management issues, and other business and industry information in engineering fields. Sources include newspapers, magazines, and journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and patents. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.
Materials Research Database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal articles, patents, and books on all aspects of materials science with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. 1880s-present.
Begin with the Measures of Effective Teaching Longitudinal Database. Found within the collection are thousands of hours of rich video data -- active classrooms, real teachers, current practices. The collection also includes a diverse set of quantitative data ranging from standardized instrument scores to teacher and student surveys to student assessments.
Be a part of designing fairer, more powerful, and more reliable measures of teacher effectiveness.
MTEA indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, reports, dissertations, and patents in mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields in business, math, and computer science. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1966-present.
Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 64,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
MedicLatina indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Most of the content is in Spanish, though English abstracts are available for some articles. Full text content is PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990s-present.
MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of articles such as review articles and clinial trial reports. 1950-present.
MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 2000-present.
MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.
MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1950-present.
The Mental Measurement Yearbook provides descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests that are commercially-available. Each entry contains descriptive info (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading area experts, but not the actual tests, though links may be provided. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.Vol 1-present. Limited to simultaneous users.
Mergent Corporate Manuals (also called Mergent Web Reports) offeris a vast archive of corporate annual, quarterly and interim reports from over 100 countries. Mergent provides the ability to search documents by company name, region, country, document type or year of report. Corporate Manuals also includes company summaries, which provides a quick overview of each company in the database and includes address details, contact phone and fax numbers. 1909-present.
Mergent provides full-text annual reports for companies worldwide, digitized documents like Moody's Manual, equity reports, industry reports, and country reports. 1909-present.
When you know what something looks like but not what it's called, or when you know the word but can't picture the object, a visual dictionary is a quick solution. In a quick look, you can match the word to the image. In Merriam Webster's version, the image realistically and precisely shows an object, a process or a phenomenon, and the most significant details of its composition. It serves as a visual definition for each of the terms presented. Includes over 6000 images and 20,000 definitions
METADEX indexes citations and abstracts for articles, conference papers, books, book chapters, essays, reports, dissertations, and patents covering all aspects of metals and alloys. Some images, charts, and graphs are included in the database. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1966-present.
Search across multiple government databases (currently 53 databases, including reference databases, digital repositories, or subject-based Web gateways) to find reports, articles, and citations. Search individual databases or create sets of databases with the A-Z Resource List. Access and search the "native" interface of these databases from the originating institution/agency. Email or export records in various formats.
The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 8,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
The Military & Government Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, news sources, primary source documents, legislative acts and proclamations, and other publications covering all aspects of the military. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.
Mintel offers over 900 market research reports focused on the broad categories of: beauty and personal, drink, electronics, food and foodservice, health and medical, health and wellness, household, lifestyles, retailing and travel. The reports can be searched for product, brand name or keyword. Mintel also offers news articles related to marketing, reports of company management changes, and company profiles.
When logging into the database, you must accept conditions of use and login with your email and a password that you create. You must use your Virginia Tech email for this system. Limited to simultaneous users.
The Directory of Periodicals contain extensive information aout the journals and book series indexes in the MLA International Bibliography. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
MLA International Bibliography indexes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.
This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. Each text is encoded in either SGML or XML and includes a bibliographic header with details about the creation of the electronic text and its print source. 1500s-present.
The Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications includes citations to all government publications from 1895 to 1976. (For later coverage, see the GPO Monthly Catalog from FirstSearch , which continues the coverage contained in this database.) Researchers can search for keywords across all issues or during a specific period, find documents by individual or corporate author, or search any of the other fields included in the records.
This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. There are accounts on farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore, providing a view of the region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, and from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and the social, political, economic, scientific, religious, and agricultural characteristics of the region. 1700-1950.
Music Index Online indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, book and performance reviews, obituaries, and proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry in both classical and pop music. 1973-present with selective coverage from 1962-1972. See print index for earlier coverage.
Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 14,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.