Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001236

    Madcad
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

MADCAD

MADCAD provides building codes, evaluation standards, design standards, and technical bulletins. Our package includes:

  • ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) design loads for buildings and other structures
  • ASHRAE (American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers) most used design standards
    • ASHRAE Standard 135 A Data Communication Protocol for Building Automation and Control Networks
    • ASHRAE Standard 90.1 (IP Edition) Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings (ANSI Approved; IESNA Co-sponsored)
    • ASHRAE Standard 189.1 Standard for the Design of High-Performance Green Buildings (ANSI Approved; USGBC and IES Co-sponsored)
    • ASHRAE 15 Safety Standard for Refrigeration Systems
    • ASHRAE 34 Designation and Safety Classification of Refrigerants
    • ASHRAE Standard 62.1 Ventilation for Acceptable Indoor Air Quality
    • ASHRAE Standard 62.2 Ventilation and Acceptable Indoor Air Quality in Low-Rise Residential Buildings
    • ASHRAE Standard 90.2 Energy-Efficient Design of Low-Rise Residential Buildings
    • ASHRAE Standard 52.2 Method of Testing General Ventilation Air-Cleaning Devices for Removal Efficiency by Particle Size (ANSI Approved)
    • ASHRAE Standard 55-2010 Thermal Environmental Conditions for Human Occupancy (ANSI approved)
  • ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) safety code for elevators and escalators
  • ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) standards referenced in the I-Codes listed above [about 280 standards]
  • FEMA codes [about 140 codes]
  • ICC (International Codes Council) building codes
    • International residential code for one- and two-family dwellings
    • International building code
    • International fire code
    • International existing building code
    • International plumbing code
    • International performance code for buildings and facilities
    • International fuel gas code
    • International mechanical code
    • International energy conservation code
    • International private sewage disposal code
    • International zoning code
    • International wildland-urban interface code
    • International property maintenance code
  • NFPA (National Fire Protection Association) national fire code [about 750 codes]
  • SMACNA (Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Contractors' National Association) architectural sheet metal manual
  • Virginia state codes

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1981-present

Date

June 17, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.