Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001378

    Mango for Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Mango for Libraries

Mango is a self-paced language-learning system with a focus on simplicity. It was designed for anyone to start using, without the need for a help manual. Mango is easy to setup and even easier to use!

By listening to and repeating after material designed from native conversations, you'll not only learn the individual words and phrases, you'll know how they're used in practical situations and conversations.

You'll learn more than grammar, vocabulary and culture, you'll learn how to communicate. Mango's self-paced learning environment offers the simplest way to learn a new language. Mango is not a flashcard system. Instead, Mango teaches actual conversational skills within the context of real-world situations. Patrons will be amazed to discover that they can use what they learn immediately, even after the first lesson.

Create a profile on the site to begin; use that profile to access Mango through iOS and Android apps. A microphone is strongly suggested for some exercises.

Foreign languages for English speakers available include the following 60 courses.

  • Arabic (Egyptian)
  • Arabic (Levantine)
  • Arabic (MSA)
  • Armenian
  • Azerbaijani
  • Bengali
  • Biblical Hebrew
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Dari
  • Dutch
  • Farsi (Persian)
  • Finnish
  • French (Canadian)
  • French
  • Greek (Koine)
  • Haitian Creole
  • Hawaiian
  • Hebrew
  • Hindi
  • Hungarian
  • Icelandic
  • Indonesian
  • Irish
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Kazakh
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Malay
  • Malayalam
  • Norwegian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese (Brazil)
  • Punjabi
  • Romanian
  • Russian
  • Scottish Gaelic
  • Serbian
  • Slovak
  • Spanish (Latin America)
  • Spanish (Spain)
  • Swahili
  • Swedish
  • Tagalog
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Thai
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Urdu
  • Vietnamese
  • Yiddish

English as a second language course include these 16 courses.

  • الإنجليزية للمتحدثين بالعربية
  • 教粵語人士講英文
  • 针对中国人(母语为普通话)的英语学习
  • Anglais pour Francophones
  • Englisch für Deutschsprachige
  • Αγγλικα Για Έλληνες
  • Inglese per Italiani
  • 日本人のための英会話
  • 한국인을 위한 영어
  • Angielski Dla Polaków
  • Inglês para Brasileiros
  • Английский Для Русскоговорящих
  • Inglés Para Hablantes De Español
  • Türkçe Konuşanlar için İngilizce
  • Tiếng Anh Cho Người Việt Nam

Additional links

/body>

/html>

<</body>

/html>

/html>

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

January 25, 2013


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.