Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000865

    Material ConneXion
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Material ConneXion

Material ConneXion offers comprehensive information on each of the materials in our Materials Library. Online users get unlimited access to images, detailed material descriptions, usage characteristics, and manufacturer and distributor contact information, all written and compiled by our knowledgeable staff of material specialists.  The content provided is complete enough to satisfy an engineer or scientist who is expert in materials, yet user-friendly enough to benefit the architect and designer who is not.

The materials database supports students and professionals in

  • Architecture
  • Interior Design
  • Packaging Design
  • Retail Design
  • Industrial Design
  • Fashion, Apparel & Footwear
  • Exhibition Design
  • Textile Design
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Transportation Design

It includes information on

  • Polymers
  • Ceramics
  • Glass
  • Metals
  • Cement-based materials
  • Natural Materials
  • Carbon-based materials
  • Processes

Materials are chosen through a strict review process. Between 50 and 60 new materials are independently juried into the library every month.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.