Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000124

    MathSciNet
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MathSciNet

MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.  Authors are uniquely identified, enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name string.  

Continuing in the tradition of the paper publication, Mathematical Reviews (MR), which was first published in 1940, expert reviewers are selected by a staff of professional mathematicians to write reviews of the current published literature; over 40,000 reviews are added to the database each year. Extending the MR tradition, MathSciNet contains over 2 million items and over 1 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 450 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided.  This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.

MathSciNet now contains bibliographic data and direct links for Ph.D. theses published in Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Statistics from the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database.

Exporting citations

Citations for MathSciNet items can be viewed/downloaded in EndNote, AMSRefs, BibTeX and ASCII formats.

You may choose to view or download citations for up to 50 item. This can be done by selecting Citations (ASCII), Citations (BibTeX), Citations (AMSRefs), or Citations (EndNote) from the pull-down menu located next to Batch download: and then clicking on Retrieve First 50. If there are fewer than 50 items in the list, all of them will be displayed. Alternatively, you may mark up to 50 individual items and then retrieve them. Click in the boxes to the left of all items you want to view/download and then click the Retrieve Marked button.

Once you have the list of citations displayed in the desired format, use the File | Save As function in your browser to download the file.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1800s-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.