Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Mergent EventsData
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

Mergent's Events Data

Events data utilizes RSS/XML technology to deliver on-going updated information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls, name changes, etc. Events Data message feeds enable users to capture and analyze breaking business developments as they occur.

In addition to providing EventsData clients breaking business developments as they occur, EventsData provides clients the ability to research Corporate Actions, Dividends, Fixed Income and Unit Investment Trust data from a historical perspective. EventsData.com consist of five accredited data Modules.

Corporate Actions

  • Provides the latest Corporate Action data on all North American listed securities.
  • Includes mergers, acquisitions, name changes, exchange delistings, ticker symbol changes, preferred stock redemptions, and other events that affect companies and securities.
  • Data is verified against proven sources and announced with concise transaction terms & conditions.

Corporate Dividends

  • Provides ten years of information on over 64,000 dividend-paying stocks and mutual funds, as well as ADRs, GDR's, and their underlying foreign shares.
  • Features include indicated annual dividend calculations, dividend distributions and capital gains as well as capital changes such as splits, stock dividends, rights and spin-offs. Payments classifications include taxable, approximate, extra, and many others.

Fixed Income

  • Provides detail bond data on Corporate, Corporate MTN (Medium Term Notes), etc.
  • Features include specific bond details encompassing Ratings History, Announced Calls, Redemption Details, Schedules, Exchange Offers, and Tenders Offers.

Municipal Called Bonds

  • Also provides access to Municipal Called Bonds. Complete and structured bond information.
  • Features include Call Type (i.e. full/partial), Paying Agent Address, Delivery Instructions, redemption date and total redemption amount.

Unit Investment Trusts

  • Provides the ability to accurately calculate principle and interest payments while monitoring distribution types for tax purposes.
  • Data elements included: CUSIP number, issuer name, issue description, record date, payment date, interest amount, principle amount, dividend income, capital gains, payment frequency, trust name and sponsor name.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

August 23, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.