Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Authors as Published

  • Agriculture
  • Behavioral and Social Sciences
  • Biography and Autobiography
  • Biology and Life Sciences
  • Computers and Information Technology
  • Conflict and Security Issues
  • Earth Sciences
  • Education
  • Energy and Energy Conservation
  • Engineering and Technology
  • Environment and Environmental Studies
  • Food and Nutrition
  • Health and Medicine
  • Industry and Labor
  • Math, Chemistry and Physics
  • Space and Aeronautics
  • Transportation and Infrastructure
    National Academies Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Academies Press

The National Academies Press provides over 4000 free PDF ebooks (most of their published titles). Free registration is required before you can download the PDFs. You can download a single PDF for the entire book, or one for each chapter. We link from the Addison screen for our print copies to the online version on the NAP site. You can browse subject categories or search across the collection.

Rights

Downloadable?

Yes, downloadable in PDF format after free registration.

License

  • Concurrent users:
  • Permissions:
  • Restrictions:
  • ILL:
  • Authorized users:
  • Resource advisory:

Coverage

Any Adobe Digital Editions compatible device, including iOS, Android, Nook, and Sony Reader. (Individual pages saved as PDFs can be read on Kindles.)

Publisher

  • Bibliographic-level indexing in Summon
  • Title-level linking through Get VText

Date

July 30, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.