Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000238

    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) from ICPSR

NACJD provides the following services to assist those using our data collections.

  • The identification of appropriate criminological and criminal justice data collections on specific topics.
  • Custom subsetting of selected data files through our online Survey Documentation and Analysis.
  • Assistance with the retrieval and use of files obtained from the archive.

NACJD is home to web sites for two separately maintained programs: the Project for Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) and the Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC).

The Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) is a large-scale, interdisciplinary study of how families, schools, and neighborhoods affect child and adolescent development. It was designed to advance the understanding of the developmental pathways of both positive and negative human social behaviors including the pathways to and away from juvenile delinquency, adult crime, substance abuse, and violence. At the same time, the project also provided a detailed look at the environments in which social behaviors take place by collecting substantial amounts of data about the people, institutions and resources of urban Chicago.

The Terrorism and Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC) archives and distributes data collected by government agencies, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and researchers about the nature of intra- (domestic) and international terrorism incidents, organizations, perpetrators, and victims; governmental and nongovernmental responses to terror, including primary, secondary, and tertiary interventions; and citizen's attitudes towards terrorism, terror incidents, and the response to terror. It also organizes and streamlines access to extant research and administrative data from across the world that are relevant to the study of terrorism and the response to terrorism for descriptive and scientific analysis by academics and researchers.

NACJD makes criminal justice data available to the public for secondary analysis. We do not produce published reports, statistics, charts, or other analyses based upon data holdings. However, users interested in such publications can search our Online Bibliography of Data-Related Literature for publications related to NACJD data collections (and ICPSR data collections in general).

Resource Guides: Online guides that provide detailed information about complex or frequently-accessed data collections are available for the following topics. Users are strongly encouraged to review the information in the relevant resource guide(s) before using these data collections.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.