Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    US Dept of Education National Center for Education Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology. Many publications report the findings of specific surveys, but at least three—Digest of Education Statistics, Projections of Education Statistics, and The Condition of Education—cover the field of education statistics from a broad perspective. Also includes library statistics.

Rights

Unless stated otherwise, all information on the U.S. Department of Education's NCES website at http://nces.ed.gov is in the public domain and may be reproduced, published, linked to, or otherwise used without NCES' permission. This statement does not pertain to information at websites other than http://nces.ed.gov, whether funded by or linked to from NCES.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.