Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    National Climatic Data Center
This resource is freely accessible

National Climatic Data Center

NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data. NCDC produces numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.

Data sets available include

  • Local climatology data
  • COOP data/record of climatological observations
  • U.S. climate normals
  • Climatological data publications
  • Storm data publications and databases
  • Hourly precipitation publications and databases
  • Annual climatological summaries
  • Integrated surface data
  • Climate maps of the U.S.
  • Historical significant events imagery
  • Upper air observations
  • Climatic wind data
  • Comparative climatic data publications
  • SRRS weather maps and charts
  • Heating/cooling degree day and temperature
  • Freeze/frost data

Some data sets are restricted

  • Online access is free for .gov, .edu, .mil, .k12, .us and other selected domains and many products listed here are free for all users. See the Free Access section of the NCDC Help page for detailed information.
  • Period of record shown indicates period of data available online. The period of record for the complete data set may vary and is dependent on the desired location. Data prior to the period of record indicated may be available. The NCDC archives contain data as far back as the 1800s for certain data typesand locations. Contact the NCDC for availability, pricing and ordering information.
  • Any data product ordered from NCDC may be certified for court, but only the more commonly certified products can be certified for court online. For ordering certified copies of items where certifications are not offered online, please contact the NCDC. For more information, please see the note on certifications on our NCDC Ordering page.
  • Online means available through our web site for electronic delivery, although some items ordered online may require online delivery by mail and those are subject to a service charge. Some orders could be subject to a consultation fee or handling charge.
  • Offline means the data type is not available through our web site. Contact the NCDC for availability, pricing and ordering information. Many items cost more when ordered offline.
  • Some products require Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.