Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000883

    Naxos Music Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library (NML) is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month.

The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 250 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as Nonclassical, BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX and, of course, Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others; and there is also jazz, film music, nostalgia, classic and contemporary rock content.

The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 10 combined search criteria. In addition to allowing subscribers to listen to recordings, NML provides liner notes for most recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists.

Furthermore, a vast array of background information is available. Resources include:

  • Audio book transcriptions about the history of classical music and opera with listening examples.
  • Libretti and synopses of over 700 operas.
  • A pronunciation guide for composer and artist names.
  • A glossary.
  • An overview of important musical terms.
  • Work analyses
  • Work details with instrumentation, publishers, duration, work information and available recordings.

Subscribers can also listen to classical music podcasts.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.