Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

The NCBI Bookshelf is a collection of biomedical books that can be searched online and that are linked to PubMed records through research paper citations within the text. The collection includes biomedical textbooks, other scientific titles, some genetic resources, such as Gene Review, and NCBI help manuals.

Through links to other resources at NCBI, such as PubMed, Gene, and OMIM, Bookshelf enables readers to discover relevant biomedical information (see Figure 1). A number of full-text books, reports and databases hosted in Bookshelf can be accessed through links in their corresponding entry in PubMed, a database of citations and abstracts for journal articles, books and documents (see the NLM Technical Bulletin for more information). PubMed and Bookshelf are also interlinked by 1) links in PubMed to publications in Bookshelf that have cited a PubMed citation in their bibliography, and 2) links to PubMed citations from articles cited in publications on Bookshelf.

Rights

Some of the information found in Bookshelf is provided by non-government authors and publishers, and as such is copyright protected. Since NCBI does not control the copyright for these books, you must contact the author or publisher to obtain permission before reproducing any material found in such publications. Such books are identified on Bookshelf web pages by the presence of the copyright symbol (©) at the bottom of the webpage. For more information, see the Bookshelf Copyright and Permissions, which also includes links to publisher-specified copyright statements.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.