Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000431

    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

NSTC - Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue - C19

The Nineteenth-Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC) defines the printed record of the English-speaking world from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the end of the First World War. The project aims to index all printed works published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed works in English wherever published, and all translations from English. In addition to providing an exhaustive survey of the complete spectrum of monograph publications in the period, the catalogue indexes thousands of periodicals, directories and other ephemeral publications.

NSTC Series I (1801-1815), Series II (1816-1870) and Series III (1871-1919) were first published by Avero Publications between 1983 and 2002 in print and on two CD-ROMs. Together they comprise more than 1,278,000 cross-searchable records drawn from the catalogues of the Bodleian Library, the British Library, Harvard University Library, the Library of Congress, the Library of Trinity College, Dublin, the National Library of Scotland and the University Libraries of Cambridge and Newcastle.

This online edition of NSTC has been expanded and updated with new material forming NSTC Series IV. NSTC Series IV currently comprises more than 25,000 catalogue records for works from the period 1801-1919 added to the holdings of the British Library after 1976, when the last supplement to the British Museum General Catalogue of Printed Books was issued. In future releases, Series IV will grow to incorporate additional records for nineteenth-century holdings from other research collections.

As part of C19: The Nineteenth Century Index, NSTC Series I-IV combine with more than 28,000 bibliographic records created to accompany The Nineteenth Century to provide exhaustive coverage of nineteenth-century monographs and other books. Results from NSTC and The Nineteenth Century are displayed in the 'Books' section on the Search Results display.

NSTC is a valuable tool for research supporting a wide variety of disciplines. NSTC includes well-known and obscure works of literature, important translations, legal documents, political pamphlets, medical and scientific monographs, and periodicals, allowing users to build research bibliographies and save them to a personal archive, or print, email or download them.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1801-1919

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.