Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

    US Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Online Digital Media Library from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video and that are in the public domain.

Topical areas include:

Birds and Bird Management
Includes bird species identification, monitoring techniques, harvested and non-harvested management, environmental assessments, and avian diseases.

Environmental Sciences
Topics in ecology, geosciences, hydrology, physics, energy, climate change, containment prevention, identification and assessment as well as cleanup and resource restoration.

Fisheries
Related to fish and fisheries management.

Habitats and Landscapes
Includes specific habitat types and non-refuge scenics.

History
Images of historic and archival objects and activities.

Invertebrates
Includes all spineless animals from simple organisms such as sponges and flatworms to complex animals such as arthropods and mollusks.

Plants
Plant species documentation and imagery. Includes endangered and threatened plants.

Law Enforcement
International and national wildlife trade regulation and activities, protection of critical habitat from environmental contamination, patrolling of habitats, inspection and seizures.

Recreation
Includes items that relate to all recreational activities including hunting and fishing.

Training and Education Outreach
Images of training activities from all FWS programs as well as outreach events.

Wildlife
All species specific items are collected including endangered wildlife.

Wildlife Refuges
Includes wildlife refuge scenics, refuge activities, management documents, and items of historic interest.

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.