Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001228

    Orlando
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present is a new kind of electronic textbase for research and discovery. The first and largest component of a history of women's writing, it seeks to further the study and understanding of literature, focusing particularly on the part women have played in its development.

At the core of Orlando is a collection of documents, rather like reference-work entries, about the lives and writing careers of individuals. Most writers have a pair of documents: one about the life, one about the writing. Some writers (a minority) have only a single document: life or writing.

Documents can be read from start to finish, or in chunks. You can go straight to a portion of a document by clicking on the headings provided on the Overview screen for that writer. You will also meet chunks outside their parent documents, when you generate timelines or search results. You can always move from these to the document itself to read the passage in context.

There are also freestanding chronology materials on literary, social, and political history, as well as bibliographic entries for primary and secondary material.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

early medieval - present

Date

May 20, 2012


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.