Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000118

    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford Guide to Countries of the World

Featuring more than 200 maps, this invaluable handbook provides a wealth of information on every country in the world. Organized alphabetically, each entry offers a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. For each country there is a map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more.

An appendix of indicator tables includes statistics on income and poverty, health and population and a second appendix features regional groupings, such as the EU and the African Union, with useful web links. Revised and fully updated, the Third Edition is ideal for students and teachers of geography, politics, economics, and world history, and it is a perfect home reference book. From major powers such as the United States or China, to hot spots such as North Korea or Iran, to little known nations such as Mayotte, Kiribati, or Nauru, this essential guide is the first place to turn for information on the world around us.

References are linked via Get VText.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

3rd edition

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.