Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1001646

    Oxford Islamic Studies Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies Online provides nearly 6000 entries from esteemed Oxford works, including the recently published Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, and more; primary source documents with editorial commentary provide historical context for important events and major figures in the history of Islam; learning resources include thematic guides, lesson plans, bibliographies, a glossary, and other useful tools; and images and maps provide visual perspectives on global Islam and its historical development.

The site contains some 1,000 biographies of the men and women who have made an impact on the Islamic world over the centuries.

The Qur’an is made accessible by means of numerous tools, with references to Qur’anic chapters and verses linked to the Qur’an; a verse look-up tool, and for in-depth study, two interpretations: The Qur’an, a modern prose version from M.A.S. Abdel Haleem, and the classic verse edition from A.J. Arberry, The Koran Interpreted. Either text can be studied alone, side by side, or in combination with the first electronic version of Hanna Kassis' A Concordance of the Qur’an, a unique and valuable reference that links English words and their corresponding transliterated Arabic terms to passages, chapters and verses in the Qur'an.

There are two timelines to provide reference and context on the history of Islam and its role in global affairs. The primary timeline documents over 1,000 historic moments in Islamic history—births, deaths, reigns, wars—with links to related content within the site. The timeline of Islamic history can be viewed alone, or side-by-side with a timeline of general world history events at corresponding periods.

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 9, 2013


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.