Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000694

    PBS Video Database
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

PBS Streaming Video Collection

This collection of streaming videos is the digital counterpart to the VHS collection of PBS shows. Complete list of titles. The collection covers a broad range of disciplines in the humanities, arts, social sciences and sciences, but is particularly strong in American history and American studies.

You can link directly to the individual videos in the collection using the URL syntax described in the examples below. The normal bitrate videos are encoded at 300 kbps and may be accessed from anywhere on the Internet. The high bitrate movies are encoded at 800 kbps and are only accessible on-ground at UVa and from on-campus locations of some other VIVA members with high speed network connections to Charlottesville via the National Lambda Rail or Internet2 (Virginia Tech's campus has access to this network).

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.