Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000431

    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Periodicals Index Online began as Periodicals Contents Index at Harvard University. It is an index to millions of articles published in over 4,600 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from around the world. Articles from over 900 of these periodicals with nineteenth century content (1790-1919) have been indexed in C19 Index, allowing undergraduate, graduate, faculty and general researchers to quickly locate every article by a particular author or from a field of study and compare them alongside of articles in The Times newspaper via Palmer's Index, with original and reprinted articles in American magazines from American Periodicals Series, and with other official publications and books published in the century. For the first time, users will be able to compare records from indexed periodicals with parallel entries from the Wellesley Index in order to easily establish the authorship of articles that were unsigned or published under a pseudonym.

Results from Periodicals Index Online are displayed in the 'Periodicals' section on the Search Results display. There are also links from Periodicals Index Online records in C19 Index to full text from 79 journals within various JSTOR collections.

Some of the nineteenth century titles from Periodicals Index Online that are indexed in C19 Index include:

  • The Academy
  • Academy Architecture and Architectural Review
  • Andover Review
  • American Naturalist
  • Archaeologia
  • The Athenaeum
  • Atlantic Monthly
  • Brush and Pencil
  • Cambridge Review
  • The Connoisseur
  • The Craftsman
  • Church Quarterly Review
  • The Englishwoman's Review
  • Folklore
  • The Garden
  • Harper's
  • Harvard Law Review
  • Journal Asiatique Law Quarterly Review
  • Library Journal Mind
  • Month
  • Music
  • National and English Review
  • National Geographic
  • Notes and Queries
  • Punch
  • Philosophical Magazine
  • Poet Lore
  • Revue Archéologique
  • Revue Bleue
  • Revue des sciences morales et politiques
  • Revue de Paris
  • Sewanee Review
  • Social Work (London)
  • United Service Magazine
  • Werner's Magazine
  • The World's Work

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1665-1995

Date

September 13, 2010


Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.