Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content



    Plunkett Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Plunkett Research

Plunkett Research provides market research, industry analysis, glossaries, and company profiles in HTML and PDF, plus industry statistics in spreadsheet formats and overview videos. Each industry's data is organized in unique, easy-to-use tools:

  • Market Research and Industry Trends
  • Industry Statistics
  • Company Profiles
  • Export Company Contacts
  • Industry Glossary
  • Industry Associations
  • Build-A-Report
  • Video Introductions to each Industry

Industries covered include

  • Advertising, Branding & Marketing
  • Airlines, Hotels & Travel
  • Alternative & Renewable Energy
  • Apparel, Textiles & Fashions
  • Asian Companies New!
  • Automobiles & Trucks
  • Banking, Mortgages & Credit
  • Biotechnology, Drugs & Genetics
  • Canadian Industries
  • Chemicals, Coatings & Plastics
  • Computers Software & Infotech
  • Consulting
  • E-Commerce & Internet
  • Energy & Utilities
  • Engineering & Research
  • Entertainment & Media
  • Food, Beverage & Tobacco
  • Games, Apps & Social Media New!
  • Green Technology New!
  • Health Care
  • Insurance
  • International Companies
  • Investment & Securities
  • Manufacturing
  • Middle Market Companies
  • (Revenues from $100M to $1B)
  • Nanotechnology & MEMS
  • Outsourcing & Offshoring
  • Private Companies
  • Real Estate & Construction
  • Retailing
  • Sports
  • Telecommunications
  • Transportation, Supply Chain & Logistics
  • Wireless, Wi-Fi, RFID & Cellular


  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  




May 22, 2012


restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.


NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.