Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

ID

e1000238

    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

PreK-3rd Data Resource Center from ICPSR

The PreK-3rd Data Resource Center is an online resource center designed to expand the knowledge base and provide tools for the access and handling of Prekindergarten through Third Grade longitudinal data. The goal of this project is to inform the Foundation for Child Development's PreK-3rd initiative and build the research field by facilitating the analysis of rich, complex, longitudinal datasets that contain a wide range of variables on the child, family, school, and neighborhood. The Web site disseminates datasets and user guides developed to provide researchers with detailed guidance in creating their own extract datasets.

PreK-3rd components are drawn from the literature on effective schools, intervention/prevention, early childhood education, and developmental science. Six PreK-3rd components are: School Organization/Principal Leadership; Qualified Teachers; Classrooms as Learning Environments; Alignment and Coordination; Assessment and Accountability; and Family and Community Engagement. Strong principal leadership, high quality teachers and classroom environments, and coordination of curricular approaches as well as high expectations for all children are widely cited in the effective schools literature. The value-added of a PreK-3rd Approach is starting early (i.e., 3 years old), and a focus on developmentally informed learning experiences from the PK years through at least Third Grade. While we have some knowledge about the effectiveness of high quality PK programs and some K12 research that indicates effective practice in schools, these two literatures have evolved in isolation without the recognition that schooling is an accumulative process that begins in PK and continues into elementary school and beyond. PreK-3rd research aims to address this gap, and inform education practice and policy so that all children's learning opportunities are maximized.

Datasets include:

  • Early Childhood Longitudinal Study, Kindergarten Class of 1989–1999
  • National Head Start/Public School Early Childhood Transition Demonstration study, 1991–1999
  • National Longitudinal Survey of Youth, 1979: Child Surveys
  • Panel Study of Income Dynamics, Child Development Supplement
  • Study of Early Child Care and Youth Development, Phases I–IV

Rights

  • Concurrent users:  
  • Permissions:  
  • Restrictions:  
  • ILL:  
  • Authorized users:  
  • Resource advisory:  

Coverage

1979-present

Date

September 13, 2010


Related Links

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Warning

NOTE: Most items obtained from this page are subscribed to by the library and accessible only to Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
 
WARNING: The abuse of Virginia Tech licensed online resources by such means as systematic downloading violates the university's acceptable use policy, jeopardizes Tech's future access to resources, and is prohibited.
 
Additionally, some databases and ejournals require an additional username and password.